Wednesday, 13 August 2008

REH's Conan the Cimmerian

The library delivered Robert E. Howard's The Coming of Conan the Cimmerian, the first of a three volume set published in 2002–2003. It is a definitive collection. The first thirteen stories in the order they were released by REH, not a perceived order by those that came after, or a forced chronology.

The Forward and Introduction are alone worth reading. The opinion of pastiches by authors that came after, or of those that attempted to finish the unfinished is raw and frank. An opinion to which I heartily agree.

Posted by caffeinated at 8:38 AM in nerdery


[Trackback URL for this entry]

Comment: dansich at Sun, 17 Aug 12:42 PM

Wildside is publishing HC editions of REH's complete "Weird Works". Vol 8 is currently expected from the printers, and vol 9 is in the works.

Your comment:

(not displayed)

Live Comment Preview:

« August »